Extension of the ISC-GEM Catalogue

We are working on incremental improvement of the ISC-GEM Global Instrumental Earthquake Catalogue, extending the magnitude content of the Catalogue prior to 1960 and adding recent years. Each year an upgraded version of the Catalogue is made available. At the end of the project, in 2017, we expect:

  • the magnitude cut-off in the period 1918-1960 reduced to 5.5;
  • the magnitude cut-off in the period 1900-1917 reduced to 6ΒΌ;
  • the catalogue to include 2010-2013;

Rebuild of the ISC Bulletin

Following its move to the ak135 velocity model and the new location algorithm (ISCloc), the ISC has been involved in rebuilding the ISC Bulletin. On completion, the rebuilt ISC Bulletin will include many additional data and have improved ISC locations computed using a consistent method.

CTBTO link to the ISC database (only available to States Parties of the CTBT)

The CTBTO link to the ISC database is a collection of tools for manipulating the seismological datasets maintained at the ISC. These include the ISC Bulletin, the IDC Reviewed Event Bulletin (REB), the EHB Bulletin and the IASPEI reference events. The link provides details on seismicity, frequency-magnitude distributions, network hypocentre comparisons, individual station data and waveform request tools.

SKS Splitting Project

During 2002-2003, the ISC and the School of Earth Sciences of University of Leeds undertook a joint project to automatically measure shear wave splitting. The original plan was to ensure that the new measurements continue to be made and included in the ISC Bulletin after the project concludes. Despite a general success of the project, automatic SKS-splitting measurements were never made operational at the ISC. We nevertheless continue providing an access to a set of quality results achieved under this project.

Bibliography of Seismology

This form provides a rudimentary search of the database from the Bibliography of Seismology. The database was compiled by the Canadian Dominion Observatory for 1956 to 1964 and by the International Seismological Centre for 1965 to 1995.